TimeRecording Support

Do I need to lock the data? What are the benefits of locking the data?

In general, you are not required to lock employees’ time tracking data, but we recommend that you do so.

Once data has been locked, it can no longer be changed. This data is protected from unintentional changes in the time recording calendar and modifications to the work schedules. Additionally, locking the data reduces the time the system needs to calculate the balances.

We therefore recommend finalizing all time tracking data that you are highly unlikely to need to change in the future.

If you want to change an employee’s work schedule, locking the data is mandatory. See: Changing the Work Schedule.

Data locking can be performed in the time recording calendar, or on the dashboard, in the employee overview. Only days in the past can be locked, and they must either contain no entries or complete pairs of entries.

In the time recording calendar, you can also undo a data lock.

Note: If you undo a data lock, all time tracking data that was previously locked will be recalculated using the currently valid work schedule settings. If the settings have changed since the data lock, you will see different results in the calculations.